Apple Messages app

HCHTech

Reaction score
I am primarily an android shop, but we have field iPads we use for invoicing, notes, & etc. All of these iPads are registered to a common Apple ID. Yesterday, I got a message from one of my clients that showed up in the"Messages" app. I have never used this app before, and certainly never used it to communicate with clients. It was an important communication, and I only found it by accident.

For the life of me, I can't figure out where this message came "from". Is it a text message? If so, what number was the message texted to? Is it some special Apple SMS? If so, then how did this client find my recipient ID? What IS my recipient ID? The message sender shows up with first and last initials in a circle, like gmail on my phone, but my it isn't in my gmail account.

Worse, I found a handful of older messages in there as well - nothing important, luckily.

I hate these rogue communications because either we have to start checking this thing for messages, or somehow dissuade anyone from using this avenue of communication. It's a no-win situation.

Will one of the Apple folks here shed some light on this, please?

When you log into your iCloud account on an iOS device, the email address from that also gets used for iMessage and FaceTime.
You can disable these in the settings if you wish.
Is the Apple ID email adddess a known public address?

I just can talk about my iPhone. "Nachrichten" (the german word for messages) is just nothing else then the tool to write and read SMS. This SMS is send to the phone number of the sim card from your cellular provider you have in your iPad.

hth

Thanks, guys. The ipads are Wifi only, but the email address used for the Apple ID is my main company domain email. I did NOT receive the message in Outlook for that email, only in the messages app on the iPads. That's what I thought was strange.