Lenovo G560 laptop screen will not switch

sys-eng

Reaction score
Lenovo G560 laptop with cracked LCD screen leaking fluid.
Connect external monitor with VGA port but does not swith to external display when pressing Fn + F3.

Could the broke LCD keep this computer from switching to the external display?

I have no experience with this particular model. Called Lenovo support and the guy there said it should switch over but could not say for sure.

I thought of that but I do not want to open it up for just a diagnosis. Too many chances to break a plastic connector etc.

The guy at Lenovo said a defective LCD screen "should" not lock up the display connection but not 100% positive. Trying to find someone with more experience with this model than me.

I thought of that but I do not want to open it up for just a diagnosis. Too many chances to break a plastic connector etc.

Opening something is part of a diagnosis. Many and I mean MANY times a diagnostic does involve swapping parts, disconnecting things, etc. If you are afraid to do hardware diagnosis and repair then refer the client to somebody who isn't afraid do it.

I'm not at home to test out. But I own this laptop, it should be f2 or f3. When hitting fn + f3 does it bring up the options to change the display.

Paul, I am thinking that it probably is bringing up options rather than just transferrrnig. The laptop LCD is completely nonfunctional so I cannot see any options if they are displayed on that screen.

Sorry about that, realized that long after my post.

When you press fn +f3 you are met with 4 options

- 1st option which is already selected is computer only

- 2nd option is duplicate

- 3rd is extend

- 4th is projector

you can select an option by using the right arrow key, once of the 2nd option, ect and hitting enter.

Best of luck

As anonmac, has stated. Strip the screen down, and then disconnect the lcd harness cable. Then try the ext display.

After all, we are only talking of around 10 screws.