Macbook blue/white screen or restarts

fincoder

Reaction score
I have one of those annoying jobs where more issues became apparent after initial diagnosis. I'm not that experienced with Mac so I assume that was my downfall.

Macbook Pro (late 2011), customer said it wouldn't boot and battery not working well. When I turned it on, it started booting then just went white. So I took out the HDD and Crystal Disk Info found it had bad sectors, cloned to ensure data recovery and installed new SSD (250GB 860 Evo). I thought I'd found the problem.

So I quoted for replacement battery and ordered it.

I booted from a OSX High Sierra USB installer, first time the screen went white, tried again and it all worked perfectly including restore from the old drive clone. The Macbook was working well, booting up, logging in, checked a few things. All good.

New battery arrived, installed it, charged to full capacity then ran from battery for a while streaming video from WiFi to test. All went really well, so called the customer to say it was fixed and ready to pickup. The customer wanted a new user account with only Chrome bookmarks copied from the original user account so I said no problem, will be ready first thing tomorrow morning when she was coming in. The customer did express surprise that I'd been able to fix it, saying she was told it wasn't fixable... I wasn't told this originally.

I started trying to export & import Chrome bookmarks but it took longer than I thought because I couldn't figure out what folder to use that was accessible to the new user account...

Current Problem for readers wanting to skip to the main issue:
Suddenly it switched off, now when turning it on it gets the Apple logo with loading progress for a bit, then while screen for a while, then reboot. Or sometimes instead of the white screen I get a blue screen with vertical lines. Same things happen with Command-R recovery mode, and booting from MacOS installer USB.