[SOLVED] Intel Rapid Restore Driver Causes BSOD - DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE

Appletax

Reaction score
Edit: see this thread's post below. I think I botched the Optane memory permanently.

---

Client brought me an HP Spectre x360 - 13t-aw000 CTO laptop to repair. It had an issue with Explorer crashing.

Tried fixing it but ending up nuking and paving. Ran the built-in hardware diagnostics - no issues found.

The Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver caused a BSOD (DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE). I reinstalled Win 11 multiple times trying different ways of installing this driver - tried installing it in the Win 11 USB installer, tried using different versions, tried letting Windows Updates handle it, tried installing it in Device Manager. It would process the driver for up to 11 minutes before crashing or reporting an error.

The laptop had a combo drive with 32GB Intel Optane Memory H10 and 512GB NVMe. I have very little experience with Optane. I made the mistake of not disabling Optane acceleration prior to N&P. In the Win 11 installer, I used Diskpart's clean command on both the SSD and the Optane memory. I could never figure out how to get Optane working again as the system kept saying that there were no valid disk pairs. I noticed that the SSD used a standard NVMe controller driver and that the Optane Memory used the Intel Chipset SATA/PCIe RST Premium Controller.

I replaced this combo drive with a standard NVMe drive and that didn't help at all. I decided to finish setting up Win 11 and see how it went. The BSOD never returned and the driver was installed. Hoping it stays that way for the client. If it happens again, I could use Group Policy Editor to prevent this specific controller from updating - it already comes with an older driver by default from the Win 11 installer.